Trudeau calls May 6 byelection for B.C. riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith – Vancouver Sun

Trudeau calls May 6 byelection for B.C. riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith - Vancouver Sun
Federal byelection set for May in B.C. riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith
The riding opened up when former NDP MP Sheila Malcolmson resigned in January to run successfully for the provincial New Democrats.

Sheila Malcolmson, formerly the MP for Nanaimo-Ladysmith, is now a provincial MLA for John Horgan's NDP government. CHAD HIPOLITO / THE CANADIAN PRESS

OTTAWA — Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has announced a May byelection in B.C. to fill a seat vacated by a former New Democrat.

In January, the prime minister called byelections for three ridings, including Burnaby South, where NDP leader Jagmeet Singh ultimately won his seat in Parliament more than a year after nabbing the party’s leadership.

The riding opened up when former New Democrat member of Parliament Sheila Malcolmson resigned in January to run successfully for the provincial New Democrats.

The Conservatives, meanwhile, have named businessman John Hirst as their candidate, while Paul Manly has secured the nomination for the Green Party. Jennifer Clarke will run for the People’s Party of Canada.

Malcolmson was one of several NDP MPs who decided not to run again in October’s federal election.

The other two byelections — in Outremont, Que., and York–Simcoe, Ont. — saw the Liberals win the Quebec seat back from the NDP, but the party was unable to oust the Conservatives from the Ontario riding.

The list includes B.C. MPs Murray Rankin, Nathan Cullen and Fin Donnelly, Alberta MP Linda Duncan, Ontario MPs Irene Mathyssen and David Christopherson, and Quebec’s Helene Laverdiere, Romeo Saganash, Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet and Anne Minh-Thu Quach.

The B.C. riding was vacated in January by NDP MP Sheila Malcolmson, who left her seat in Parliament to run in the provincial byelection in Nanaimo, which she ended up winning.

Bob Chamberlin, a long-serving chief counsellor of a First Nation based on Gilford Island in the Broughton Archipelago off northeastern Vancouver Island, has said he intends to seek the NDP candidacy in Nanaimo-Ladysmith.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau called a federal byelection for the riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith Sunday, choosing May 6 as the date voters will cast ballots for their next MP.

Chamberlin has worked in the Kwikwasutinuxw Haxwa’mis First Nation and as vice president of the Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs. He has also worked with Liberal and Conservative governments, served as chair of several agencies and boards, and advocated on a range of issues.

Michelle Corfield, who currently serves as chair of the Nanaimo Port Authority, has already been named as the Liberal candidate for the federal byelection.

Paul Manly, a researcher, filmmaker and communications specialist who has lived and worked in Nanaimo since 2002, is running for the Green party. Manly finished fourth in the riding in the general election of 2015, earning 19.8 per cent of the vote.

That seat was vacated in October 2018 after NDP MP Kennedy Stewart successfully sought the mayor’s chair in Vancouver.

The Conservatives have selected 32-year-old financial manager John Hirst to run in the riding while Jennifer Clarke, who lost the nomination to Hirst, will represent the new People’s Party of Canada, led by Quebec MP Maxime Bernier.

The byelection is the fourth race Trudeau has had to call this year ahead of October’s federal election.

A byelection has been called for the federal riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith, the Prime Minister's Office announced Sunday. 

READ MORE: Jagmeet Singh wins Burnaby South byelection, Liberals take Outremont, Tories hold York-Simcoe

The B.C. riding was formerly held by New Democrat MP Sheila Malcolmson. She resigned in January to run in a provincial byelection in the riding of Nanaimo, a vote she won.

The Nanaimo-Ladysmith vote, scheduled May 6, will be the fourth federal byelection of the year, after three were decided in February.

In the Feb. 25 byelection, voters preserved the Conservatives' long string of wins in Ontario's York-Simcoe electing Scot Davidson. The Liberals, with candidate Rachel Bendayan, regained Montreal's Outremont riding, held by former NDP leader Tom Mulcair before he resigned as an MP last August.

Current NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh earned a seat in the House of Commons with a win in Burnaby South, vacated last September by former New Democrat MP Kennedy Stewart, now Vancouver's mayor.  

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.