Trudeau to campaign in Nanaimo today – Nanaimo News Bulletin

Trudeau to campaign in Nanaimo today - Nanaimo News Bulletin
Federal byelection set for May in B.C. riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith
A byelection has been called for the federal riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith, the Prime Minister's Office announced Sunday. 

The B.C. riding was formerly held by New Democrat MP Sheila Malcolmson. She resigned in January to run in a provincial byelection in the riding of Nanaimo, a vote she won.

Chamberlin has worked in the Kwikwasutinuxw Haxwamis First Nation and as vice president of the Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs. He has also worked with Liberal and Conservative governments, served as chair of several agencies and boards, and advocated on a range of issues.

The Nanaimo-Ladysmith vote, scheduled May 6, will be the fourth federal byelection of the year, after three were decided in February.

In the Feb. 25 byelection, voters preserved the Conservatives' long string of wins in Ontario's York-Simcoe electing Scot Davidson. The Liberals, with candidate Rachel Bendayan, regained Montreal's Outremont riding, held by former NDP leader Tom Mulcair before he resigned as an MP last August.

The list includes B.C.s Murray Rankin, Albertas Linda Duncan, Ontarios Irene Mathyssen and David Christopherson, Quebecs Helene Laverdiere, Romeo Saganash, Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet and Anne Minh-Thu Quach, and B.C.s Fin Donnelly.

Current NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh earned a seat in the House of Commons with a win in Burnaby South, vacated last September by former New Democrat MP Kennedy Stewart, now Vancouver's mayor.  

The Conservatives have selected 32-year-old financial manager John Hirst to run in the riding while Jennifer Clarke, who lost the nomination to Hirst, will represent the new Peoples Party of Canada, led by Quebec MP Maxime Bernier.

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau called a federal byelection for the riding of Nanaimo-Ladysmith Sunday, choosing May 6 as the date voters will cast ballots for their next MP.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau visits LiUNA Local 607 to announce and highlight components of Budget 2019s Canada Training Benefit in Thunder Bay, Ont., Friday, March 22, 2019. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/David Jackson)

The B.C. riding was vacated in January by NDP MP Sheila Malcolmson, who left her seat in Parliament to run in the provincial byelection in Nanaimo, which she ended up winning.

The riding opened up when former NDP member of Parliament Sheila Malcolmson resigned in January to run successfully for the provincial New Democrats.

Michelle Corfield, who currently serves as chair of the Nanaimo Port Authority, has already been named as the Liberal candidate for the federal byelection.

OTTAWA — Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has announced a May byelection in British Columbia to fill a seat vacated by a former New Democrat MP.

Bob Chamberlin, vice-president of the Union of BC Indian Chiefs who has also served as chief counsellor of the Kwikwasutinuxw Haxwamis First Nation on Gilford Island since 2005, announced last week he intends to seek the NDP nomination for the riding.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has announced a May byelection in British Columbia to fill a seat vacated by a former New Democrat MP.

The Conservatives, meanwhile, have named businessman John Hirst as their candidate, while Paul Manly has secured the nomination for the Green Party. Jennifer Clarke will run for the People’s Party of Canada.

The byelection is the fourth race Trudeau has had to call this year ahead of October’s federal election.

In January, the prime minister called byelections for three ridings, including Burnaby South, where NDP leader Jagmeet Singh ultimately won his seat in Parliament more than a year after nabbing the party’s leadership.

READ MORE: Jagmeet Singh wins Burnaby South byelection, Liberals take Outremont, Tories hold York-Simcoe

That seat was vacated in October 2018 after NDP MP Kennedy Stewart successfully sought the mayor’s chair in Vancouver.

The other two byelections — in Outremont, Que., and York–Simcoe, Ont. — saw the Liberals win the Quebec seat back from the NDP, but the party was unable to oust the Conservatives from the Ontario riding.