Oshawa municipal election nomination deadline is July 27

Your access to this service has been temporarily limited. Please try again in a few minutes. (HTTP response code 503)

Important note for site admins: If you are the administrator of this website note that your access has been limited because you broke one of the Wordfence advanced blocking rules. The reason your access was limited is: “Access from your area has been temporarily limited for security reasons.”. If this is a false positive, meaning that your access to your own site has been limited incorrectly, then you will need to regain access to your site, go to the Wordfence “options” page, go to the section for Rate Limiting Rules and disable the rule that caused you to be blocked. For example, if you were blocked because it was detected that you are a fake Google crawler, then disable the rule that blocks fake google crawlers. Or if you were blocked because you were accessing your site too quickly, then increase the number of accesses allowed per minute. If youre still having trouble, then simply disable the Wordfence advanced blocking and you will still benefit from the other security features that Wordfence provides.

OSHAWA — Candidates hoping to run in this fall’s municipal election are nearing the deadline for nomination papers.

Nominations for municipal council and school board trustee positions are due on Friday, July 27, at 2 p.m.

New names in the Oshawa council race include Cathy Clarke running for regional councillor in Ward 1. Clarke served as a regional councillor from 1994 to 2006. Diane Stephen has joined the local councillor race in Ward 1.

Daniel Cullen is running in Ward 2 regionally, while Karen Albrecht and Jonathan Giancroce have joined the race for the local seat in that ward.

Michael Goodmurphy is running locally in Ward 4, and in Ward 5 John Gray has joined the local race. Gray was mayor of Oshawa from 2003 to 2010 and served as a councillor from 1994 to 2003.

The race for public school board has grown, with Darlene Forbes, Zac Mansfield and Ashley Noble registering to run. Meanwhile, Josie Giancroce and Morgan Ste. Marie have registered to run for a Catholic school board trustee seat.

Sylvie Landry is running for the French public school board, while Marcellin Kwilu Mondo is running for the French Catholic school board.